|Library Cards & Loan Procedures|
Borrowers must be registered and have a library card to borrow library materials. A current Michigan Driver License or Michigan Stsate ID is necessary for a new card or renewal of a library card due to identity theft and for your protection. Materials cannot be checked out until a library card is issued. Applicants under 18 years-old must have a parent or guardians consent on application form before card is issued.
If you live in another state and own property within the library district, you need to show proof with a recent property tax bill or utility bill.
If patron loses or destroys a library card, there is a $1 fee for replacement costs. Lost or stolen cards should be reported immediately.
Download Registrations Forms for a library card below (requires Acrobat Reader).Adult Card Registration Form (.pdf) Juvenile Card Registration Form (.pdf)
All library cards will expire after one year. Patrons must renew cards in person at library. Patrons must show updated Michigan identification if address changes and must clear all outstanding fines. Patron cards which have not checked out materials in five years will be purged from the system.
There is an annual $45 non-resident fee for patrons who reside outside of the East Jordan School District area which is the library's service area. Proof of recent property taxes need to be shown if residency is within library district.
This library participates in the state-wide Michicard system. Patrons must fill out an application form to have a Michicard sticker placed on their present library card. To get the Michicard sticker at Jordan Valley District Library, you must reside in the library's service area. The state has decided to discontinue the Michicard program as of December 31, 2013.
Download Michicard Registration Form (requires Acrobat Reader).
Most materials are loaned for three weeks. Music CDs, videos, DVDs, titles in demand, and magazines are loaned for seven days.
Fines and Charges
The library has established a fine of 10 cents per day per item for overdue materials, except videos and DVD's which are $1 per day when overdue. Patrons are responsible for returning their borrowed materials promptly so the materials will be available to others. If the materials are not returned or paid for, the patron will be forwarded to collections and lose library priviledges.
There is a limit of seven items maximum per card out at any one time.
Library materials in circulation may be placed on reserve by any registered patron who card is in good standing. A maximum of 7 materials may be reserved per card holder. Patrons will be notified by phone or email when materials become available. The materials will be placed on reserve for 3 DAYS. If not picked up, the materials will be offered to the next person or returned to the collection.
Materials can be renewed by telephone 24/7 by calling the library and pressing 2 for renewals. Patron's name and titles of materials are needed.
Patrons who pay for lost materials may have the cost of the item refunded if the item is returned at a later date in good condition. Material must be presented with a record of payment.
Patrons are responsible to pay for the full value of materials damaged beyond customary use. If an item has be be replaced, a full charge will be assessed.
|< Prev||Next >|