Library Cards & Loan Procedures

Library Cards

Borrowers must be registered and have a library card to borrow library materials.  A current Michigan Driver License or Michigan State ID is necessary for a new card or renewal of a library card due to identity theft and for your protection.  Materials cannot be checked out until a library card is issued. Applicants under 18 years-old must have a legal guardian consent on application form before card is issued.

If you live in another state and own property within the library district, you may need to show proof  with a recent property tax bill if not in county property search database.

If patron loses or destroys a library card, there is a $1 fee for replacement costs.  Lost or stolen cards should be reported immediately.

Expiration Date

All library cards will expire after one year.  Patrons must renew cards in person at library.  Patrons must show updated Michigan Drivers license if address changes and must clear all outstanding fines.  Patron cards which have not checked out materials in five years will be purged from the system.

Non-Resident Fees

There is an annual $45 non-resident fee for patrons who reside outside of the East Jordan School District area which is the library's service area.  Proof of residency taxes may be asked for if you are not in the county property search database.

Loan Policies

Most materials are loaned for three weeks. Music CDs, DVD's, Videos,  titles in demand, and magazines are loaned for seven days. 

Fines and Charges

The library has established a fine of 10 cents per day per item for overdue materials, except videos and DVD's which are $1 per day when overdue.  Patrons are responsible for returning their borrowed materials promptly so the materials will be available to others.  If the materials are not returned or paid for, the patron will be forwarded to collections and lose library priviledges.


There is a limit of seven items maximum per card out at any one time.


Library items in circulation may be placed on hold by any registered cardholder whose card is in good standing.  A maximum of 7 items may be put on hold per cardholder.  Cardholders will be notified when the items become available.  If the cardholder can't be reached, the item will be moved on until the contact information is corrected which is the cardholders responsibility to notify the library.  The materials will be placed on reserve for 3 DAYS.  If the item is not picked up in 3 days, the item will be moved on.  If the cardholder doesn't pick up an item two times in a calendar year, future holds will be canceled and removed from the holds list.


Materials can be renewed by telephone 24/7 by calling the library and pressing 2 for renewals.  Patron's name and titles of materials are needed.  Patrons can also renew their materials via the library's APP on their devices under "My Account".

Lost Materials

Patrons who pay for lost materials may have the cost of the item refunded if the item is returned at a later date in good condition.  Materials must be presented with the receipt of payment to be refunded.

Damaged Materials

Patrons are responsible to pay for the full value of materials damaged beyond customary use.  If an item has been replaced, a full charge will be assessed.